The voices told me to!

Okay, so why do we do it? Why sit for days, months and sometimes years on end to pour our hearts out onto paper for everyone to read?

Why do I write?
Because kidnapping people and forcing them to act out make believe carachters in my world is illegal…right?

They’re are several reasons people decide to try their hand at becoming a published author.
Fame..
Fortune..
To see their name in print..
To hear family and friends constantly ask ..you finished that little book yet? Or why don’t you write a vampire book like that one girl an make tons of cash like her?
Because you yearn to tell stories..
You love making up your own worlds and people you can control like a little child with a box full of barbies?

Me, I have to write or the ideas bouncing around in my head drive me nuts. Ideas are always popping in my head, at all hours if the day no matter what I’m doing. Needless to say I have many notebooks full of ideas, names, partial stories etc. plus several files on my laptop, phone and iPad that are full of ideas. And it would be a shame to waste them, right?

From junior high and the stories I’d try to write, and books that totally needed better endings. Then to high school when I wrote my own soap opera “As the Stomach Churns” compete with a multiple personality star who was a nun by day. Hooker by night!
Then after high school I turned to writing harlequins, and that’s what I’m aming for to this day.
I still haven’t heard from my submission, but it’s only been a couple weeks so far. Patience, I must learn! Until I hear I’m going to start a novella and see where it goes. If it doesn’t work then on to the next one, and the next one…until one day Boom goes the dynamite and I write a winner!

So far with no luck yet, but I’ll get there. And by the time I get here I’m sure you will be damned tired of hearing from me.
Maybe not?
Until then…Happy writing!
Jody

Leave a Reply

